McCallum student reporters on The Shield staff during the 2015-2016 school year were recognized recently by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association for their work. Students won 2016 Gold Circle Awards for Newspapers in eight categories: Shield staff members Charlie Holden, Sophie Ryland, Maddie Doran, Maya Coplin, Haley Hegefeld, and Hannah Ilan each received awards recognizing superior work by student journalists. Their work was judged against entries produced by students at colleges, universities and secondary schools throughout the United States. For more information on these awards click here.

Congratulations to Mr. Winter and the staff of The Shield!